Kid Rock Accepts Detroit NAACP Award…

Kid Rock accepted the Detroit NAACP’s Great Expectations Award on Sunday despite protests from the association’s own members.
There are some members of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People who object to his use of Confederate flag imagery onstage. One member claimed it was “a slap in the face of anyone who fought for civil rights in this country.”
The rocker hit back, however, claiming his use of the flag was part of a tradition inspired by Lynard Skynard, saying: “I love America, I love Detroit and I love black people” as he collected his awarded, given to him for his ongoing support to the city.


Kylie Minogue, Tinie Tempah and Plan B have all been nominated for Ivor Novello awards

Plan B and Everything Everything lead the way with two nominations each, and will square go head-to-head in the songwriting awards’ Best Album category.

Plan B’s ‘She Said’ is also nominated for PRS for Music Most Performed Work, while Everything Everything’s ‘MY KX, UR BF’ is in the running for Best Song, Musically and Lyrically.

Tinie Tempah’s ‘Pass Out’ is up for Best Contemporary Song alongside The xx’s ‘Islands’ and Katy B’s ‘Katy On a Mission’, while Kylie Minogue’s ‘All The Lovers’ is in the running for Most Performed Work against ‘She Said’ and Scouting For Girls’ ‘This Ain’t a Lovesong’.

Also nominated for Best Song Musically and Lyrically are Foals’ ‘Spanish Sahara’ and Villagers’ ‘Becoming a Jackyl’.

Villagers’ singer and songwriter Conor O’Brien told BANG Showbiz: “It’s not your average pop song,so to be nominated for something that Lily Allen won last year is kind of interesting. I sort of feel like I’m on the sidelines watching this kind of mainstream thing happening.”

Lily Allen scooped three awards at last year’s ceremony, Songwriter of the Year, Best Song Musically and Lyrically and Most Performed Work for her track ‘The Fear’.

Other trophies which will be handed out at the awards – held on May 19 at London’s Grosvenor House hotel, include Best Original Film , Best Television Soundtrack and Best Original Video Game .